Skip to Primary Navigation Skip to Site Navigation Skip to Main Content All 3M.com Site Map
Company Information

History

At a Glance

3M was founded in 1902 in the town of Two Harbors, Minn., when five businessmen agreed to mine a mineral deposit for grinding-wheel abrasives. But the deposits proved to be of little value, and the new Minnesota Mining and Manufacturing Co. (3M) moved to nearby Duluth, Minn., in 1905 to focus on sandpaper products.

Years of struggle ensued until the company could master quality production. New investors were attracted and the company moved to St. Paul in 1910. Early technical and marketing innovations began to produce successes and, the company paid its first dividend of 6 cents a share in 1916.

  • The world's first waterproof sandpaper, which reduced airborne dusts during automotive manufacturing, was developed in the early 1920s.

  • A second major milestone occurred in 1925 when Richard G. Drew, a young lab assistant, invented masking tape  an innovative step toward diversification and the first of many Scotch® brand Pressure-Sensitive Tapes.

  • In the following years, technical progress resulted in Scotch® Cellophane Tape for box sealing, and soon hundreds of practical uses were discovered.

  • In the early 1940s, 3M operations were diverted into defense materials for World War II, which was followed by new ventures, such as ScotchliteTM Reflective Sheeting for highway markings, magnetic sound recording tape, filament adhesive tape and the start of 3M's involvement in the graphic arts with offset printing plates.

  • In the 1950s, 3M introduced the Thermo-FaxTM Copying Process, ScotchgardTM Fabric Protector, videotape, Scotch-Brite® Cleaning Pads and several new electro-mechanical products.

  • Dry-silver microfilm was introduced in the 1960s, along with photographic products, carbonless papers, overhead projection systems and a rapidly growing health care business of medical and dental products.

  • Markets further expanded in the 1970s and 1980s into pharmaceuticals, radiology, energy control, office products and globally to almost every country in the world.

  • In 1980, 3M introduced Post-it® Notes, which created a whole new category in the marketplace and changed people's communication and organization behavior forever.

  • In the 1990s, sales reached the $15 billion mark. 3M continued to develop an array of innovative products, including immune response modifier pharmaceuticals; brightness enhancement films for electronic displays; and flexible circuits used in inkjet printers, cell phones and other electronic devices.

  • In the 1990s, 3MTM Privacy Plus Filter (first computer screen accessory to combine privacy, glare reduction and radiation protection); the world’s first CFC-free inhaler for asthma sufferers and structured abrasives (using 3M's proprietary microreplication technology) are launched.

  • In 2004, sales topped $20 billion for the first time, with innovative new products contributing significantly to growth. Recent innovations include Post-it® Super Sticky Notes, Scotch® Transparent Duct Tape, optical films for LCD televisions and a new family of Scotch-Brite® Cleaning Products that give consumers the right scrubbing power for a host of cleaning jobs.

Learn more about 3M History at our History Web Site (Worldwide, English)

Related Links

跳至基本導航 跳至網站導航 跳至主內容 All 3M.com Site Map
Company Information

公司歷史

摘要

1902年,五位商人決定開採礦藏,作為製造磨輪的研磨用料,於是,3M就在美國明尼蘇達州的雙港巿正式成立。後來,他們發現礦產的價值很低,這家成立不久的明尼蘇達礦業和製造公司(3M),唯有在1905年遷往附近的德盧斯巿,並以出品砂紙為主。

經過多年掙扎,公司終於掌握了生產優質產品的技術,新投資者陸續加入,而公司則於1910年遷往聖保羅巿。至此,早年開發的創新技術和推廣方法,開始帶來成果,1916年,公司第一次分紅,每股派息美元6分。

  • 1920年代,3M成功研發出世界首張防水砂紙,這種砂紙可在製造汽車時,減少空氣中的塵埃。 
  • 1925年,3M推出第二項重要發明。當時,年青的實驗實助理Richard G. Drew,發明了突破性的遮蓋膠帶,它是產品多元化發展的第一步,也是芸芸思高® 牌感壓膠帶的先驅。
  • 接下來的幾年間,技術的進步,造就可用來封箱的思高® 牌透明膠紙的出現,不久,這種膠紙的用途多達數百種。
  • 1940年代初,因第二次世界大戰,3M業務轉向製造軍用物品,戰後帶來新的業務發展,例如,出產可用於高速公路標誌的視覺麗™反光物料、錄音磁帶、細絲研磨膠帶、圖像藝術和柯印印刷片。
  • 1950年代,3M推出ThemoFax™複印技術、思高潔™ 纖維保護片、錄影帶、思高®百潔布及一些新的電鍍機械產品。
  • 1960年代,乾銀微型膠片首次推出,連同其他新產品,例如,攝影產品、無碳紙張、高架投影系統及增長迅速的醫療業務,如醫療及牙科產品。 
  • 1970年代至1980年代,巿場快速發展,3M進佔藥劑、放射學、能源控制、文儀產品、以及在全球各國巿場。
  • 1980年,3M推出報事貼®便條紙,它是巿場上革命性的產品,並徹底改變了人們溝通和組織能力。
  • 1990年代,3M的銷售額高達150億美元。公司繼續發展不同的創新產品,包括調節免疫系統反應的產品、電子顯示器用的增光膠片,以及可用於噴墨打印機、手提電話及其他電子儀器的可折撓電器。 
  • 1990年代,3M推出保護私隱的過濾膠片(是第一項糅合保護私隱、減少眩光和防輻射的電腦熒幕配件),還有世界第一個為哮喘病人而設不含氯氟的吸入器、以及採用3M專利微複製技術的結構研磨產品。
  • 2004年,公司第一次錄得200億美元的銷售額,而創新產品更是增長的主要原因。最新的突破產品包括:報事貼®超強黏貼便條紙、思高®牌透明導管膠帶、LCD電視用的光學膠片,以及令清潔工作變得更容易的全新思高®清潔用品。

有關3M詳細的歷史,請瀏覽3M公司歷史 (美國網站,英文)。

Related Links